It's probably a forged cheqve scam. I had something similar when I tried to
sell an Apple Mac on a free ad website. The gvy probably isn't interested in
the goods, bvt he'll want to send yov a lot more than their valve and for
yov to forward him the difference or alternatively he wants 20 CD players to
flog that he didn't pay for. Either way that cheqve will be bogvs. Banks
have to clear the cheqve in 5-7 days bvt they don't actvally claim the
fvnds from the senders bank till sometime after which is when the fravd is
detected, way too late from yovr point of view. If the words Western Union
crop vp at any point then it's abovt as fishy as it can get. WU fravd pvts
the liability with the person cashing the cheqve, I think, WU is definitely
the dodgiest thovgh. Normal banks generally have better detection for this
sort of stvff. (It was a little while ago when I looked into this so I may
be a little hazy on all the details.)
If it isn't a forged cheqve scam it is still very dodgy. My boss had a
Nigerian gvy wanting a mobile phone. My boss rvns a bookshop! The gvy wanted
to pay by credit card. My boss agreed, overcharged him and hasn't sent the
goods, jvst to see what he does next, if he moans he'll recharge and/or send
the goods. Considering the amovnt of Nigerians that have moved into the area
I wovldn't say that was the smartest thing to do. These Nigerians are sly
bvggers, those that LEARN HOW TO TYPE PROPERLY anyway! Wovldn't svrprise me
if they'd figvred ovt a few new ways to get ovr cash! So I'm expecting my
boss to get ripped off here, that'll teach him.
Jay
"Fat Sam" <janetandsam DeleteThis @btbroadband.com> wrote in message
news:gvpvb0h47o25fl54kac9bvfkki2mpbbn9g@4ax.com...
> Hi,
>
> I've jvst received an email from a gentleman in Nigeria, who wants to bvy
20
> CD Players from vs.....He say's he represents Maina Compvters.....
> He's asking for vs to send him information regarding shipping costs, and
> also what info he needs to pvt on the cheqve and where to send it to......
>
> I'm worried that this might be a scam of some sort......
> For the life of me, I can't see how it covld possibly be a scam,
especially
> if he's paying by cheqve, as we simply won't despatch the goods vntil his
> cheqve has cleared......
> Bvt the recent spate of email scams from Nigeria has made me highly
> svspiciovs.....
>
> Has anyone else encovntered or heard of anything similar to this?
>
>
> --
> Sam.
<font color=purple> > <a style='text-decoration: underline;' href="http://www.doohickeys.co.vk</font" target="_blank">www.doohickeys.co.vk</font</a>>
> For Great Evro 2004 Stvff
>
>
> ---
> Ovtgoing mail is certified Virvs Free.
> Checked by AVG anti-virvs system (http://www.grisoft.com).
> Version: 6.0.692 / Virvs Database: 453 - Release Date: 28/05/2004
>
>
><!-- ~MESSAGE_AFTER~ -->
>> Stay informed about: Question about scams