 |
|
 |
|
Next: Subdomains
|
| Author |
Message |
External

Since: Nov 09, 2005 Posts: 83
|
(Msg. 1) Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 4:56 pm
Post subject: Newbie Question on Joe Job Archived from groups: alt>www>webmaster (more info?)
|
|
|
I have about three dozen sites under a reseller account on a major hosting
company. Early today I suddenly began to receive a huge flood (over 5,000)
of bounceback messages from "joe job" spams -- messages sent with forged
headers that made them appear to have come from one of my domains.
I decided to kill the entire site, which was not in active use and easily
replicated, so I terminated the account in WHM. When I did so, the "delete
account" report included the following warnings:
Updating internal databases...Updating ftp passwords for all users
Warning: Unable to determine mmoincc's main domain. Skipping vhosts password
update for this user.
Warning: Unable to determine enfermer's main domain. Skipping vhosts
password update for this user.
Warning: Unable to determine alarmasb's main domain. Skipping vhosts
password update for this user.
and so on, for 10 names. I did not create these users, and have no idea who
mmoincc, enfermer, alarmasb, etc. are. Their presence in the database
suggests to me that the website was compromised by hackers for use as a spam
portal. Is this correct?
If so, does this mean that other sites under this reseller account are also
likely to have been compromised? How do I check for "uninvited" users?
Did I do something wrong in setting up or managing the sites, or is there a
vulnerability at the hosting company level?
Is there anything I can/should do to secure my individual sites and my
reseller accounts, to keep out these intruders?
Less important, I'd be grateful for an explanation of how I can be receiving
these bouncebacks, since in CPanel on this site there is no "default"
address. I have no idea how the bouncebacks sent to" phoney_address @
mydomain.com" wound up being forwarded to me.
Thanks in advance for any advice, help or leads to solutions. >> Stay informed about: Newbie Question on Joe Job |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |  |
External

Since: Nov 09, 2005 Posts: 83
|
(Msg. 2) Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 4:56 pm
Post subject: Re: Newbie Question on Joe Job [Login to view extended thread Info.] Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)
|
|
|
Reposting, minus annoying extra blank lines
-----------
I have about three dozen sites under a reseller account on a major hosting
company. Early today I suddenly began to receive a huge flood (over 5,000)
of bounceback messages from "joe job" spams -- messages sent with forged
headers that made them appear to have come from one of my domains.
I decided to kill the entire site, which was not in active use and easily
replicated, so I terminated the account in WHM. When I did so, the "delete
account" report included the following warnings:
Updating internal databases...Updating ftp passwords for all users
Warning: Unable to determine mmoincc's main domain. Skipping vhosts password
update for this user.
Warning: Unable to determine enfermer's main domain. Skipping vhosts
password update for this user.
Warning: Unable to determine alarmasb's main domain. Skipping vhosts
password update for this user.
and so on, for 10 names.
I did not create these users, and have no idea who mmoincc, enfermer,
alarmasb, etc. are. Their presence in the database suggests to me that the
website was compromised by hackers for use as a spam portal. Is this
correct?
If so, does this mean that other sites under this reseller account are also
likely to have been compromised? How do I check for "uninvited" users?
Did I do something wrong in setting up or managing the sites, or is there a
vulnerability at the hosting company level?
Is there anything I can/should do to secure my individual sites and my
reseller accounts, to keep out these intruders?
Less important, I'd be grateful for an explanation of how I can be receiving
these bouncebacks, since in CPanel on this site there is no "default"
address. I have no idea how the bouncebacks sent to" phoney_address @
mydomain.com" wound up being forwarded to me.
Thanks in advance for any advice, help or leads to solutions. >> Stay informed about: Newbie Question on Joe Job |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |  |
External

Since: Jan 25, 2005 Posts: 235
|
(Msg. 3) Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 9:20 pm
Post subject: Re: Newbie Question on Joe Job [Login to view extended thread Info.] Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)
|
|
|
On Sat, 06 Oct 2007 20:06:48 GMT, Alex put finger to keyboard and
typed:
>Reposting, minus annoying extra blank lines
>-----------
>I have about three dozen sites under a reseller account on a major hosting
>company.
Which company, and what did their support department say when you
asked them the questions you are now asking us?
Without knowing that information, there is no way that anyone
unfamiliar with your situation will be able to help.
Mark
--
http://www.MotorwayServices.info - read and share comments and opinons
"Shake off your golden shackles, children of time no more" >> Stay informed about: Newbie Question on Joe Job |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |  |
| Related Topics: | Newbie Question - Hi all Does having loads of links on my page dilute my google ranking? Best, Richard MacKenzie www.richardmackenzie.co.uk
newbie question(s) - I have just signed up with Lycos and can't understand how to (or whether I can) change the logo on my site now that it's just published. I would also like to make other changes to the site seeing it on-line. I also need to add information to it. Can..
Newbie Question - I have a small, personal website on which I have a page dedicated to my webcam. The webcam works fine, and everybody (using Windows) can see it fine, as I use Windows Media Encoder to stream the video. But my question is this; Currently I keep two..
Newbie question - How do you get those groovy avatars/icons/graphics that I see in the toolbar of my XNews message reader window on usenet postings from certain posters in alt.www.webmaster? I can't find any answers to this on Google. John Redmond Discover..
newbie question - I have been developing for about 15 days and have ran into my first snag. Sorry if this is a repeat but I am having a hard time searching out this problem. When I visit my site and hover my mouse pointer over graphics this annoying little windows tool.. |
|
You can post new topics in this forum You can reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|