Welcome to MobyThreads.com!
FAQFAQ      ProfileProfile    Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log inLog in
All support for the MobyThreads Threaded phpBB MOD can now be found on welsolutions at this forum

Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc

 
   Web Hosting and Web Master Forums (Home) -> Webmaster RSS
Next:  Montreal - Webmaster-programmer available  
Author Message
pinkbishop

External


Since: Jul 09, 2003
Posts: 18



(Msg. 1) Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:45 am
Post subject: Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc
Archived from groups: alt>www>webmaster (more info?)

Anybody ever hear of this company. Domain Registry Group Inc?


Can't seem to find them anywhere online.

See email message below that I received....

I am concerned that somebody might be trying to hijack the domain
name. My client has paid somebody for the renewal but they cant seem
to find any paper work. The reason for my concern is that I have
recieved this message several times and approved the transfer, but
keep gettting the request to approve.

Any help and advice appreciated.

Thanks!




Dear Customer,

You are receiving this notice because you are listed as one of the
contacts for the
domain name domainname.COM.

We have received a transfer request to move this domain to Domain
Registry Group Inc from a different registrar. Please click on the
following URL link and let us know if you approve OR disapprove this
domain transfer:

PLEASE NOTE: if the link below is broken you will need to copy and
paste everything between < > into your browser

<http://www.transfer-approval.com/universal.asp?id=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>

The deadline for responding to this request is: Jul 14, 2003.

Thank you for your time and attention regarding this matter.
If you have any questions please reply to this e-mail.

Sincerely,
Domain Registry Group Inc

 >> Stay informed about: Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc 
Back to top
Login to vote
jerry

External


Since: Jul 05, 2003
Posts: 24



(Msg. 2) Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2003 6:58 am
Post subject: Re: Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc [Login to view extended thread Info.]
Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)

PinkBishop <pinkbishop.DeleteThis@hotmail.com> wrote in message news:<m27ngv4mfbb4bdn9flo7euunsqiljoe3r2.DeleteThis@4ax.com>...
 > Anybody ever hear of this company. Domain Registry Group Inc?
 >
 >

Looks like a domain hijacking scam to me, just like the long-distance
telephone slammers out to get your account by terrifying you into a
switch. Deal with your own, original name registrar directly if you're
concerned about the renewal.

---- jerry<!-- ~MESSAGE_AFTER~ -->

 >> Stay informed about: Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc 
Back to top
Login to vote
kimandre

External


Since: Jun 28, 2003
Posts: 43



(Msg. 3) Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2003 8:10 am
Post subject: Re: Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc [Login to view extended thread Info.]
Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)

"PinkBishop" <pinkbishop DeleteThis @hotmail.com> skrev i melding
news:m27ngv4mfbb4bdn9flo7euunsqiljoe3r2@4ax.com...
 > Anybody ever hear of this company. Domain Registry Group Inc?
 >
 >
 > Can't seem to find them anywhere online.
 >
 > See email message below that I received....
 >
 > I am concerned that somebody might be trying to hijack the domain
 > name. My client has paid somebody for the renewal but they cant seem
 > to find any paper work. The reason for my concern is that I have
 > recieved this message several times and approved the transfer, but
 > keep gettting the request to approve.
 >
 > Any help and advice appreciated.
 >
 > Thanks!
 >
 >
 >
 >
 > Dear Customer,
 >
 > You are receiving this notice because you are listed as one of the
 > contacts for the
 > domain name domainname.COM.
 >
 > We have received a transfer request to move this domain to Domain
 > Registry Group Inc from a different registrar. Please click on the
 > following URL link and let us know if you approve OR disapprove this
 > domain transfer:
 >
 > PLEASE NOTE: if the link below is broken you will need to copy and
 > paste everything between < > into your browser
 >
 > <http://www.transfer-approval.com/universal.asp?id=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
 >
 > The deadline for responding to this request is: Jul 14, 2003.
 >
 > Thank you for your time and attention regarding this matter.
 > If you have any questions please reply to this e-mail.
 >
 > Sincerely,
 > Domain Registry Group Inc

Looks like an eNom reseller to me. By the looks of the name they're using, I
wouldn't trust them even as far as I can throw them.
<a style='text-decoration: underline;' href="http://www.securityoffice.net/articles/enom/" target="_blank">http://www.securityoffice.net/articles/enom/</a>

--
Kim André Akerĝ
- kimandre DeleteThis @kaa.no
- ICQ: 92708098<!-- ~MESSAGE_AFTER~ -->
 >> Stay informed about: Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc 
Back to top
Login to vote
blackcat2

External


Since: Jun 28, 2003
Posts: 585



(Msg. 4) Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:43 am
Post subject: Re: Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc [Login to view extended thread Info.]
Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)

Holding it in for one more second Kim André Akerĝ replied:
: Looks like an eNom reseller to me. By the looks of the name they're
: using, I wouldn't trust them even as far as I can throw them.
: http://www.securityoffice.net/articles/enom/

WHOA! After reading that I am more glad I use directnic.
If they get a transfer request on a domain registered with them
they send an email asking for your confirmation by clicking a link
to your contact address you have listed with them.

If it is not confirmed with them they deny the transfer.

Heidi

--
Now playing: Winamp stopped
Recommended Hosting: http://www.page-zone.com/
http://www.webmaster-talk.com/index.php?referrerid=146
 >> Stay informed about: Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc 
Back to top
Login to vote
blogan

External


Since: Jun 30, 2003
Posts: 285



(Msg. 5) Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 11:09 am
Post subject: Re: Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc [Login to view extended thread Info.]
Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)

"PinkBishop" <pinkbishop DeleteThis @hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:m27ngv4mfbb4bdn9flo7euunsqiljoe3r2@4ax.com...
 > Anybody ever hear of this company. Domain Registry Group Inc?
 >
 >
 > Can't seem to find them anywhere online.
 >
Domain Registry of America at droa.com

Also do a google on droa + scam or droa + fraud<!-- ~MESSAGE_AFTER~ -->
 >> Stay informed about: Who is the Domain Registry Group Inc 
Back to top
Login to vote
Display posts from previous:   
Related Topics:
Domain auctions? - Can someone recommend some good domain auction sites? I'm looking to unload a few. Thanks!

OnlineNIC.com Domain Changes - Is Anyone Home??? - I have a new client who's previous web developer had registerd his domain name through OnlineNIC.com. I've emailed them several times using different addresses posted on the contact section of their web site and even tried their online support form...

PHP mail() and "unrouteable mail domain" - Ok, I worked out what I thought was a really cool mailing list system. My mailing list for one of my sites is now 574 recipients. I had previously tested the whole thing with about 50 guinea pigs and it worked great every time. I've since sent two..

Gathering expired domain lists - How do the sites that list expired domains get thier lists of expired domains?

transfer Domain to Better host ... but networksolutions pr.. - hi all, just setup an account with hostdiscount.net for my domain. Since hostdiscount includes free domain registration they tried to transfer my domain to his registrar. OK Fine! :) Problem: I have still the old e-mail address on Networksolutions and..
   Web Hosting and Web Master Forums (Home) -> Webmaster All times are: Pacific Time (US & Canada) (change)
Page 1 of 1

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



[ Contact us | Terms of Service/Privacy Policy ]